Concerned avout my new RES... HELP!

Post your turtle first aid questions here.
Jaylii

I am very new at this whole RES thing. I am having a couple of probs...

1. I got two RES, but one of them won\'t eat! He just stays in one corner of the tank:( I am trying to feed him pellets...I don\'t wnat him to starve!

2. What material should I put on the bottom of the tank?? The pet store guy told me fish gravel, so i bought it but I just read that my RES might eat it... should I ditch it??

3. I don\'t have a heater or UV light... I live in the tropics and their tank is in a sunny spot, do I really need these??

4. Where online can I buy a good, yet moderately priced heater and UV light?? I don\'t have a ton of money to spend on these things.

Thanks for any help you can provide me.
turtlecrazed
Level 3
Level 3

answers:

1) try other foods aside from pellets; fish, crickets, veggies, boiled chicken, snails. Sometimes it takes variety to get them to eat.
2)don\'t use fish gravel. It can cause impactions and prolapses. Use larger smooth river rocks. It should be sold at pet stores.
3)Unless the water stays at 78 degrees constantly, yes you need a heater. And no matter where you live, unless the turtles are outside, they need a UV light. Sitting in the sunlight does no good, glass filters out the UV rays. Also sitting a glass tank in the sun is a recipe for disaster. The turtles can overheat and die if it gets too hot in there.
4)Try looking at the Foster and Smith reptile site. They have alot of great reptile products. Also there is a place called big-als online.
Good luck with the babies. If the one still doesn\'t eat no matter what you try, i suggest a vet visit to make sure there isn\'t anything wrong.
Willie
Level 3
Level 3

I don\'t have a UVB light, I can get away without one with a snapper. All what i do is take it outside 45 mins, 4 days a week. But I would for sure get on for a RES.
Willie
Willie
Level 3
Level 3