I\'d like to put up my turtles for adoption at some point...

Discussions about turtles.
ownerofjekyllandhyde
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys, I\'m new to this board, and relatively new to being an owner of red-eared sliders. I have two RES turtles -- appropriately, I believe, named Jekyll and Hyde. :) I love them to death, but unfortunately I am a poor college student who will soon be unable to purchase adequate housing and food for the turtles. Right now their shells are about 2\" (my aunt bought them at a flea market in SC not knowing they are illegal that small), but I have the feeling by sometime next year they will become too big for the housing they\'re in right now. I would rather not ship the little guys somewhere to be adopted, but if I have to I will... I live in Iowa, so I would prefer just to be contacted by someone in a nearby state who would be willing to take them.

Can any of you help me? Thanks.
StephanieW31
Level 2
Level 2

From what I hear, they grow kinda slow, but I am not sure on that....I am fairly new to owning them myself. You could check your local animal control shelter or a herp vet for any turtle rescue places near you. Some will gladly take healthy turtles and find homes for them.

try turtlehomes.org they may be able to help u out
somagirl

I can take them in. I already have a few hatchlings. I also have box turtles. I can send you pictures of my pets if you like. I live in VA and I am willing to split the shipping costs with you.
ownerofjekyllandhyde
Level 1
Level 1

Thanks somagirl! I just sent you an e-mail with some various information about Jekyll and Hyde and when I think I probably won\'t be able to care for them adequately ... I really appreciate your offer! :)
l8or g8or

there is someone on another board that has just built a pond and is looking for a couple of turtles. To me this would be perfect! Here is the link:

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/redearsli ... scount=-30
ownerofjekyllandhyde
Level 1
Level 1