New Turtles

Discussions about turtles.
TheCaddy
Level 1
Level 1

I'm kind of new to the turtle scene, but really loving it. My red eared slider is about 2 inches, and I feel like he needs a friend. I would like to find an albino one about the same size, does anyone know where I might get one.

Turtles are rad
LuciasAmen-ra
Level 3
Level 3

i havent seen many albino turtles but a Albino Box turtle. It may be hard finding one like that sort. You would be better off mating 2 sliders and seeing what turns up and sell the babies to make money, then you can get stuff for your tank. When or if you get one, please take a picture of it, i have never seen one.
Pat S.

Albino red ear sliders do exist but are very rare and from what i hear are much more difficult to keep. I have seen them at reptile shows and swap meets that come through the ohio area. Most albinos will cost anywhere from $150 and $200. I had a chance to buy one hatchling but didnt because i had always heard they needed specialzed care to keep them healthy so to me it wasnt worth the money as much as i wanted one.
TheCaddy
Level 1
Level 1

Do you know where I can buy a small slider? It doesn't have to be an albino. I'm having trouble locating any.
blejnbaby
Level 3
Level 3

Where are you located? Call your pet shops. Most shop owners will get some in for you. They usually range in the prices from $9-10 apiece. Sometimes if they are smaller you have to buy a caddy and they give you the turtle for free. If they make you pay for a turtle under 4 inches then you are illegaly buying a turtle.
If the pet shop doesn't sell turtles, see if they know a turtle breeder or anyone that breeds turtles. Do a little responisbilty background and make sure that the breeder is handling and keeping care of his turtles in the right way. Come this spring you maybe able to adopt a turtle. Good luck!
TheCaddy
Level 1
Level 1

I am near Dallas, TX.
meskillll
Level 1
Level 1