IM A NEWBIE, HELP!

Discussions about turtles.
badabing75
Level 1
Level 1

How deep should the water be if she is 4-5 inches? and should I make her a hiding spot or cave or something? Also, how should I go about making sure she has enough calcium? SHould i get one of those dissolving calcium tablets?
Last edited by badabing75 on Tue Feb 08, 2005 5:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
dixieee
Level 5
Level 5

welcome to the board:)

ok seems ur doing fine with the little girl..4-5 inches needs to be filled at least to cover her shell so if she falls on her back she could flip again by herself without needing help from anyone..that\'s the min. level then u can inc. is as much as u like cz RES\'s are good swimmers and it\'ll be more fun for both of u (it is fun watching them swim)

i don\'t know about the tiny little grey dot..how is it like? how does it feel? for the pellets try mixing them with what she likes to eat cz shrimps and beef should be given occassionally only to avoid ur turtle getting overweight..if u wanna put some dicorations in the tank like the cave or anything then it\'s o kand turtles love them but make sure of 2 things first:
1- nothing in the cave can cause injury to her (scratches, wounds..)
2- she can get easily in and out so she doesn\'t get stuck in there and drown..

calcium blocks are fine too..enjoy ur turtle:)
STRAYKINGFISHER
Level 5
Level 5

Welcome to the board, nothing further to add yet other than soaking the turtle pellets with water from either tuna or sardines before you feed them to your turtle, that is what I do with mine:D, just make sure it is water and not oil from the tuna or sardines.

It would help if you posted a picture of your turtle with that fuzzy dot showing, that way we might get a better idea of what you are talking about.
dixieee
Level 5
Level 5

btw is it ok to soak them often? like not only for treats?
BXsLilPrinCesS
Level 3
Level 3