swollen brownish stain

Post your turtle first aid questions here.
isabelle

hi this is my first time here i looked around at the posts and did not find nothing that looks like my problem so here it goes, we recently bought a baby slider wich was healthy until recently this swollen brownish stain under its mouth on the side of the neck appeared.the turtle is very active very STRONG i might add!! but this stain bothers me if anyone thinks they know what im talking about i would appreciate some info thanks so much.
STRAYKINGFISHER
Level 5
Level 5

It sounds like an ear abcess, you can go to this page to find out about it:
http://www.pogospals.com/pogospals/Ear_ ... tment.html

Be advised that those are pictures of an abcess treatment so there is some blood involved:D
dixieee
Level 5
Level 5

welcome to the board

it\'ll be easier to tell if u can post pix but u can check this link maybe it will help http://www.austinsturtlepage.com/Care/medshell.htm
it includes different skin diseases..keep us posted and i hope the little guy will be ok
deesygirl

The swelling is what is puzzling me. A brownish stain could be a skin disease, and it would be in his best interest to get him in to a vet.

How long have you had your baby? What type of enclosure was he in? He may have caught an infection before you bought him. Try cleaning the area with a weak betadine solution and take a good close look. DOes he have any scratches that may have become infected? He also may have eaten some thing that stuck in his mouth. Turtles will try to eat most things. Some things can jab into the lining of the mouth and cause an absess trying to get out.
isabelle