Egg Bound RES

Post your turtle first aid questions here.
TOITYS
Level 1
Level 1

Hi! I am new to the posting board but not new to turtles. I have had my red ear slider since she was a week old hatchling. I also had her sibling who died several years ago. Toity is now 13 years old, she\'s by herself in a 125 gallon tank and my buddy. Every egg season she is laying soft shell eggs or no shell at all just yolk. I need to get more calcium in her diet but I can only find powdered versions which just leaches into the water as soon as she grabs it. So far the most effective way has been to put the powder on chicken but I dont want her eating that everyday its too fattening. Does anyone have any ideas how to correct this. Her shell is very strong and hard so I guess all her calcium goes there. Thanks in advance!
STRAYKINGFISHER
Level 5
Level 5

What I did is to take some dried shrimp and mix up some calcium and water then put the shrimp in to soak up the water with calcium, the shrimp will soak up (I think) the water and calcium and since it is already water logged the other water won\'t go into the shrimp, you will still see some leeching but that is from the calcium around the shrimp:D, I hope that helps you out.
yaya
Level 4
Level 4

i wet the pellet a bit then i roll them into the calcium powder and i put them on the basking area but enought close of the water so my turtle can grab them from the water..and when she put her head under the water to swallow she have already half of the pellet(with the calcium)in her mouth.so i assume she grab a good part of it..and i think that,even if it\'s seem to dissolve in the water it\'s still there and the turtle drank some..
mariza
Level 4
Level 4