Feeding...

Discussions about turtles.
Bandgeek2709
Level 3
Level 3

How do you feed you turtles waxworms and mealworms and crickets? Is there some special way, or do you just drop them in the water.
booboo
Level 3
Level 3

maybe you should cut them up if they r whole. i think you can put it in the water but im not an expert.
stunt pogoer
Level 3
Level 3

bandgeek2709 wrote:
How do you feed you turtles waxworms and mealworms and crickets? Is there some special way, or do you just drop them in the water.
crickets will float, so you can just drop them in... if the other ones float, then yes just drop them in too
stunt pogoer
Level 3
Level 3

no, dont cut them in pieces, because the turtle will go for it more if its alive and moving at the top of the water
STRAYKINGFISHER
Level 5
Level 5

Yeah, turtles will usually tear them up themselves, I have seen them do that with chicken, they\'ll take the piece in their mouth and tear at it with their claws.
dixieee
Level 5
Level 5

yes they can handle such things..btw what makes a turtle stop eating what it used to? mint doesn\'t wanna eat neither the pellets nor the dried shrimps..i tried grilled chicken and meat those two days and he eats them..when i hold the pellets he smells them then goes away as if he is hungry but doesn\'t like the food..why is that? he used to eat them b4 and green still eats them that means nothing\'s wrong with the food???
STRAYKINGFISHER
Level 5
Level 5

Turtles have their own likes and dislikes, you can\'t go by what your other turtle likes or if he liked the food before, I guess it is kinda like meatloaf for us, it\'s ok every now and then, but everyday, it gets boring, mint probably just got bored with the taste of the pellets.:D
Cats are the same way and nobody thinks about it twice, they\'ll just sniff the food and turn their heads and walk away, like they were saying \"what, this again?\":D:D
yaya
Level 4
Level 4