?False Map Turtle?

Discussions about turtles.
wisp_13
Level 2
Level 2

Im pretty sure that is the kind of turtle that I have, I was wondering, are they good turtles? (all turtles are good, but)I read that they were hard to take care of and died easily in captivity. I dont think this is true, any input on this would be greatly appreciated!
snoopy
Level 3
Level 3

i have 3 mississippi maps, which used to be classified as a subspecies of false map (i think). I have had snoopy for about 3 1/2 years and she had been in someone elses care for an unknown amount of time. she was an adult when i got her, and she is very healthy.

about 5 months ago i got 3 hatchlings of the same species. i gave one to a friend because it was aggressive, but all three are doing very well.

i am a high school science teacher and the turts live in my classrom during the year. they do fine, even though they are usually a skittish type of turtle. i have them in a low traffic area of the classroom where they get at least 40 minutes of peace at a time.

they do have more shell problems than most kinds of turts, but if you keep your water SUPER clean, you should not have a problem. (in the adult turtle\'s tank i have a filter rated for 100 gallons, and the tank is only filled with about 15 gallons of water).

map turts also don\'t gete as big as res, so if space is an issue, male map turts would be a good option.

i hope this helps!!
wisp_13
Level 2
Level 2