Im new with my turtle and it ende up sick please help me!!

Post your turtle first aid questions here.
Fobo2
Level 1
Level 1

Hi i have a brand new turtle its kinda like a medium size male Red Eared Slider. I already had him over a month. Name is herbie. Well it all started when i saw my friends have 2 res for about 4 years and i helped them out a lot. i thouhght it was very easy to take care of it so i brought one of my own. They have no filter ,heater, lamp, like 10 cups of water in the tank and they dont even take care of them. But i didnt know turtles get sick. when i brought mines i lasted a week with it eating and it bieng ok. but then i fed it a live fish. then 2 days later it started to not eat anymore and then its eyes started to close and stay shut like if he would never open them again. i did not know what to do. so i called all my friends i knew that had expierence with turtles they all recomended turtle eye drops ok so i brought it.then ive been calling the vet and ask by phone they did not know but they said to bring it in. but i cant cause i cant afford it. now i went to the pet store and they said maybe its hibernating. then i went to the pet store that i brought my turtle at. they recomended a heater turtle eye drops and some medication called FURACYN. i have tried it nothing works. i went to the internet and to many webpages none worked at all. exept here where im asking you right now. please help i dont know what to do. i really dont want my turtle to die.please help. and heres my email you can contact me their if you want. [email protected] please reply as soon as possible. thank you
Tinkerbell
Level 3
Level 3

I would browse this site it is very helpful:
http://www.austinsturtlepage.com/Care/emergencies.htm
Good luck
sorry i couldnt help you more
Fobo2
Level 1
Level 1