fluval all in one???

Post any questions you have about a turtle indoor setup here. Or if you have a link to your indoor setup picture we would love to see it.
snoopy
Level 3
Level 3

I was thinking of buying a new filter for my map turtle. I currently have a duetto 100, and I was looking for something that will last a bit longer between water changes.

I was looking through the new foster and smith catalogue, and I am not sure about the external cannisters, as I have no experience with them. I was looking at the fluval all in one. I was wondering if anyone has anu feedback on them, and which one I should get. I have a 29L filled about 3/4 of the way. I have one turt that is about 5 inches. I feed her in a different tank to make the water stay clean longer, but i still have to change it about every 2 weeks.

Does anyone have any feedback? I was thinking of getting the fluval 3.

Thank you
snoopy
Level 3
Level 3

sorry it is called teh Fluval plus series.
l8or g8or

my vote goes for the external canister filters. I used to use the Fluval Plus but they take up too much swimming area. The Fluval canisters are wonderful, as are the Filstars - I have both.
snoopy
Level 3
Level 3

How big are they? The filter that I have is a submersible, and my map turt loves to lean on it. Do you know how big the Fluval 3 or 4 might be in comparison? Can you lay them sideways at the end of the tank?
snoopy
Level 3
Level 3

I am sorry to keep adding to my own post before anyone even has a chance to reply, but I was looking through the foster and smith catalogue at the cannister filters. I also looked at some online reviews of each.

Is the fluval hard to prime? I have a 29L tank, but I will be getting a larger tank in a year or so, should I get the Fluval 204 or 304? (They are on sale for a good price!)
l8or g8or

I would go for the biggest which is Fluval 404, it\'s a cannister filter and the entire thing sits on the outside of the tank on the floor, two hoses go inside the tank.
snoopy