doing my homework first

Discussions about turtles.
rapterble
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, This is my first time here. My 8 year old daughter has her heart set on a box turtle. The pet store has a rescued one that was tore up by a dog, they have taken care of it for 3 months and said she could have it if we get all the housing, etc. that it would need. We know NOTHING about turtles and want to know what we\'re getting into first. The shell of this turtle is still very jagged on the side and the coloring doesn\'t look as nice as others, but they said it is doing great. I did notice that it was a little more flighty when being held then the other one was. Any suggestions? Also, any suggestions on the most inexpensive way to house it and still give it all it needs would be much appreciated. She has $50.00 birthday money, the turtle is free, but the setup they showed us was $140.00! We\'re willing to help her some, but that was quite alot more than we had expected to spend. Thanks in advance for all your advice and wisdom :)
turtlecrazed
Level 3
Level 3