turtles and college

Discussions about turtles.
agent_spacemonkey

Hi all! I am a college student thinking about owning a RES or the one that is like the RES but without the red part. Any way...I\'m going to be doing some flying in an airplane back and forth. I\'m wondering if it would be so bad to be flying from D.C. to Washington state (vice versa)? Would it hurt the turtle? It\'s only for the major holidays...and I\'ve asked Northwest Airlines and they say that they couldn\'t take turtles (even small ones) on their planes \'cause they worry that they will die. Does anyone know which airlines will allow a turtle like the RES and the one like the RES on the plane?
Thanks so much!

agent_spacemonkey
\"it\'s mortis, the safty tortis...he always plays it safe!\" :p
Wu-Gwei
Level 3
Level 3

The turtles are fine on the plane, but it would not be good to fly with it during the colder months (i.e. X-mas).

Some airlines will allow reptiles in cargo, but not on board in the cabin (cats&dogs are allowed). You must check with all the airlines. It\'s a real pain. Turtles and reptiles are descriminated against. So unfair!!!

It\'s not the best time to own a turtle - when you\'re in college so far away. My advice it would be best to wait until you graduate.

Put the turts needs before your desires. Learn more about them during these few years. I know I wish I had learned more before I got into keeping turtles. You know it\'s at least a 20 year commitment. Are you ready for that!

Way too many people buy and dump the turtles into local streams and ponds where they overtake the native species.

Anyway, think about it and check the airlines. Oh, BTW, turtles can survive a week without food no problem. I have heard of turtles not eating for months, but that is not good for them, since they\'re buring their muscle stores.

Cheers,
JJ
Val_smiles
Level 2
Level 2