New Tank

Post any questions you have about an aquatic turtle tank setup here. Or if you have a picture of your aquatic turtle tank setup picture, we would love to see it.
Post Reply
User avatar
toxiceagle2007
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 9:23 pm
Location: Ashland Unversity Ashland, Ohio
Contact:

Mon Mar 28, 2005 7:50 pm

My turtles got a new set up. A 75 gallon tank with a fluvial and nice, big floating dock! I\'m excited, I can\'t wait until I get it set up and put a basking area on top. They also got about 20 new black mystery snail buddies and some feeder guppies! Hurray for tax refunds!
BXsLilPrinCesS
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:19 pm
Contact:

Tue Mar 29, 2005 12:24 am

Congrats cant wait to see pictures.

What kind of turt do you have?
B00NE
Guest
Guest
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 6:17 pm
Contact:

Tue Mar 29, 2005 8:10 pm

When setting up a new tank...do you have to do anything to the water like with fish?
dixieee
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 2732
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 3:56 pm
Location: The Lost Desert
Contact:

Wed Mar 30, 2005 12:48 am

yey congratulations for the babies:) and don\'t forget the pix if possible

yes B00NE, they need filters, heaters, lighting...
BXsLilPrinCesS
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:19 pm
Contact:

Wed Mar 30, 2005 12:52 am

B00NE wrote:
When setting up a new tank...do you have to do anything to the water like with fish?
Hmmm... GREAT questions Im not sure since I don\'t have turtles yet but I READ ALOT.. i think petshops havae vitamins and stuff you can add to the water but i dont think its all that nessary. Wait until someone more experienced comes along
STRAYKINGFISHER
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 2713
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 2:51 pm
Location: Bryan, TEXAS
Contact:

Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:52 am

Well, the turtles don\'t breathe the water but they do drink it and also do their business in there so there has to be some level of cleanliness, I change the water once a week, any longer and the water gets nasty, YUK.
rachelmarie
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 309
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 8:38 pm
Contact:

Wed Mar 30, 2005 1:36 pm

B00NE wrote:
When setting up a new tank...do you have to do anything to the water like with fish?
you don\'t HAVE to add anything to the water, no.

but, if you\'re using tap water .. there is most likely a great amount of chlorine in the water. they put this in the water so that germs are killed. you should buy chlorine drops from a pet store. almost anywhere carries them.

this is the only thing i use in the water and my turtles are perfectly healthy.
User avatar
toxiceagle2007
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 9:23 pm
Location: Ashland Unversity Ashland, Ohio
Contact:

Thu Mar 31, 2005 8:35 am

Fred and Bobette are moving in this weekend! I got a fluval, a new titanium heater, and lots of new decorations...its gonna be great!
User avatar
yaya
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 556
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 2:25 am
Contact:

Thu Mar 31, 2005 8:31 pm

cycling ur fishtank,like u do for fish,help me a lot to keep the tank clean...but i also use a good filtration system(made for at least 3 time the size of ur tank,turtles are messy)and some algea eater and snails... they also help a lot to cut down on algea and left over food...
it\'s help me to do the water change less often...
Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests